iPad could be better

Back from a short hiatus with a few random thoughts on the iPad:

Yes, I want one, but they need to add a few features before it will be more useful to me than my iPhone.

1. It needs to act more like a tablet PC. Hear me out on this.  I want to be able to actually write notes on a page with a stylus. Put a microphone on the top edge so I can record my interviews as I take notes, too. That way I can ditch the pad, pen and digital recorder I juggle now. A USB port would be nice, too.

2. Which brings us to multitasking. The iPad will, eventually, have to be able to do more than one thing at a time. Even two things at a time would be a big step forward.

3. It ought to support Flash. I know it won’t as long as Steve Jobs has anything to say about it, but to not be able to view the majority of video on the web now is too limiting. That being said, if the iPad is indeed the future of personal computing, Flash will eventually go the way of the 3.5-inch floppy. Until then, I need options.

All this means I’ll be happy to hear all about the iPad from friends who have alrady plunked down money for one. And I can’t wait to see what the second- and third-generation iPads will be able to do.

Leave a comment

Filed under journalism

Leave a Reply

